Launch of Portal for Nominations for National Awards to Higher Education Teachers

New Delhi: Secretary of Higher Education, Shri Sanjay Murthy, alongside Chairman of AICTE, Shri T. G Sitharam, recently launched the portal for nominations for the National Awards to Teachers (Higher Education) 2024. This prestigious initiative aims to recognize and honor exemplary teachers and faculty members in higher education across India.

Guidelines for Nominations:

The Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education, has issued comprehensive guidelines for the submission of nominations. The awards will acknowledge outstanding educators from both technical and non-technical higher education institutions, including polytechnic institutions. The categories for nominations are divided into three broad disciplines:

  1. Engineering & Technology, Architecture
  2. Pure Sciences (including Mathematics, Physical Sciences, Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacy)
  3. Arts and Social Sciences, Humanities, Languages, Legal Studies, Commerce, and Management

Eligibility Criteria:

  • The nominee must be a regular faculty member.
  • Must have a minimum of five years of full-time teaching experience at the undergraduate and/or postgraduate level.
  • Should not be above 55 years of age as of the last date of application submission.
  • Vice-Chancellors, Directors, or Principals (regular or officiating) are not eligible. However, individuals who have held these positions previously, are under 55, and remain in active service are eligible.

Nomination Process:

Nominations can be submitted through:

  • Self-Nomination
  • Nominations by Former or Existing Vice-Chancellors, Directors, Principals, Faculty Members, or Colleagues from the same institution.
    Note: Previous nominees are eligible for re-nomination.

The National Awards to Teachers 2024 aims to recognize the distinctive contributions of exceptional faculty members, celebrating their dedication to teaching, pedagogy, and their significant impact on the quality of higher education and student lives. The awards highlight achievements in teaching-learning, community outreach, institutional service, research, and innovative work within the field of higher education.

Award Details:

Each awardee shall be presented with the following:

  • A medal
  • A certificate
  • Cash Prize of Rs 50,000/- 

Key Dates:

  • Submission Deadline: June 20, 2024
  • Award Ceremony: September 5, 2024, commemorating Teachers’ Day and the birth anniversary of Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, former President of India and an esteemed educator.

For more information and to submit a nomination, please visit