UGC’s Jagadesh Kumar to be the Additional Chairperson of AICTE

University Grants Commission (UGC) chairperson M Jagadesh Kumar has been given additional charge as the head of the All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE), the union education ministry stated in a notice on Monday

The current AICTE chairperson Anil D Saharabudhe will be relieved from his duties as chairperson with effect from September 1, 2022, upon attaining the age of 65 years. The Ministry has already issued advertisements inviting applications for the top post of the technical education regulator of India.

“While the appointment of the regular chairman, AICTE, is under process, approval of honorable education minister is conveyed to entrust the additional charge of chairperson AICTE, temporarily, to professor M Jagadesh Kumar, chairman UGC, till the appointment of the regular chairman AICTE or until further orders, whichever is earlier,” the notice issued by the ministry read.

Kumar was serving as the Vice Chancellor of the Jawaharlal Nehru University before taking charge as the UGC chairperson in February this year. He is an alumnus of the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Madras. He is a professor of electrical engineering at IIT Delhi and still takes classes at the institute.